You are here: Home » NEWS » The Alabama Abortion Ban: Everything you need to know about the new law

The Alabama Abortion Ban: Everything you need to know about the new law

By Marisa Iati andDeanna Paul

The rush of Republican-controlled states to mount a challenge to the Supreme Court’s landmark Roe v. Waderuling legalizing abortion nationwide has sparked confusion about what these new laws actually do. Here’s what you need to know.

Lawmakers in Alabama, Arkansas, Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi, Missouri, Ohio, and Utah have passed new antiabortion bills, and similar measures are pending in other states. The new laws have prompted questions about whether women who have abortions could be punished and why some of the pieces of legislation are called “heartbeat bills,” among other topics.

These restrictions generally are meant to provoke legal challenges that ultimately elevate the issue to the Supreme Court.

“I have prayed my way through this bill,” said Alabama state Rep. Terri Collins (R), who sponsored that state’s abortion ban, on Tuesday. “This is the way we get where we want to get eventually.” Read More

Please Submit News, Articles, Enquiries And More To :
Please follow and like us:



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Scroll To Top

Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)

Follow by Email